Resources

Demonstrators
Art courses
Art materials
BBC art resource
Framing
Local art clubs/groups
Guidelines for creating a .jpg of your art work for your web page
Use your car stickers

Demonstrators

Hashim Akib hashimakib.com
Jamel Akib jamelakib.com
Marie Antoniou (Hashim Akib) marieantoniou.com
Mary-Anne Bartlett elizabethbriel.blogspot.co.uk/2009/01/travel-artist-profile-mary-anne.html
Caroline Bays carolinebays.co.uk
Melanie Cambridge melaniecambridge.com
Dee Cowell virtual-artstudent.com
Roger Dellar rogerdellar.com
Margaret Eggleton margareteggleton.co.uk
Chris Forsey chrisforsey.com
Soraya French sorayafrench.com
Geoff Hunt artmarine.co.uk/geoffhunt.aspx
Sarah Janavicius artprofile.co.uk/artist.asp?artist=Sarah%20Janavicius&alpha=J
Alan Kirk tarnincolour.com
Sera Knight seraknight.co.uk
Liz Seward sewardart.co.uk
Curtis Tappenden curtistappenden.com
David Webb davidwebbart.co.uk
Ann Wilkinson annwilkinson.co.uk

Art courses

Art Events (Linda Bywaters)   art-events.co.uk
Epsom Art Courses (Kay Mullen)   cloudvdi.co.uk/Kay
Scola   scola.ac.uk
The Sculpture School   thesculptureschool.co.uk

Adventures in art is run by Carol Hallett at Glyn Hall on Monday Afternoons from 2pm till 6pm at a subscription of £5 per week.  You are asked to pay 3 weeks in advance.  Each week is themed but not compulsory, so you can do your own thing.

Carol I am sure is well known to you all from the art club.  If you would like to join this band of artists please contact Carol – 0208 786 8686, carol.hallett@btinternet.com.  I believe there are tea and biscuits but don’t quote me.

Art materials

 Atlantis Art Materials atlantisart.co.uk
 Cass Art cassart.co.uk
 Daler Rowney daler-rowney.com
 Derwent Pencils pencils.co.uk/en/gb/home
 Granthams Art Discount artdiscount.co.uk
 Jacksons Art Supplies jacksonsart.com
 Lawrence Art Supplies lawrence.co.uk
 Pan Pastels premiumartbrands.com
 Pegasus Art pegasusart.co.uk
 Pullingers pullingers.com
 Rosemary & Co (brushes) rosemaryandco.com
 SAA saa.co.uk
 Winsor & Newton www.winsornewton.com/uk/

BBC art resource

You can look at virtually every picture in the country on public display (even a couple of Dave Tribe’s) and much more:  bbc.co.uk/arts/yourpaintings/

Framing

Steve Andrews (Leatherhead) mrsteveandrews@ntlworld.com

Local art clubs/groups

Ashtead Art Group ashteadartgroup.moonfruit.com
Croydon Arts Society croydonartsociety.org.uk
Dorking Group of Artists dga.org.uk
Guildford Art Society guildfordartsociety.co.uk
Leatherhead Art Group leatherheadartclub.com
Oxshott Art and Crafts Society fedora.org.uk/community/About%20Oxshott%20Art%20and%20Crafts%20Society.htm
Tadworth Art Group tadworthartgroup.org.uk

If you know of a website that might be useful, please email details to epsomandewellartgroup1948@gmail.com.

Guidelines for creating a .jpg of your art work for your web page

  1. Take a photo of your painting before you frame/glaze it.
  2. Use photo software to crop your photo (if necessary) and resize it.  You are aiming for a fairly low resolution .jpg image, with a size of around 100KB, and an absolute maximum of 120KB.
  3. Rename the .jpg so that the filename is the title of your painting.  Please use the following convention:
    • Capitalise the first letter of every word in the title – this includes words such as TheAIn etc
    • Delete all spaces from the title
    • Delete any special characters eg ‘ or –

Example filenames:  HarbourView.jpg, ASunnyDayInEpsom.jpg

  1. Save the file.
  2. Attach the .jpg to an email and send it to the website editor.  If you have several images, zip them up into a folder and then attach the compressed folder to the email rather than the individual images.

Notes:
To change the file name, select the .jpg, right click then select Rename from the drop-down menu, and then type your new file name.

To zip files up into a compressed folder, select the relevant files, right click then select “Send to” /  “Compressed (zipped) folder”.

There are numerous software packages available to enable you to crop/resize your pictures.  For example, you can download PhotoRazor (Windows) for free: photorazor.en.uptodown.com.

Please contact the website editor for any help or advice.

Use your car stickers

There is no excuse, even if you don’t have a car! Let everyone know about our fantastic ART group.